Mystery Item -or- I don't know what this is!

MadModeler

May 20, 2006
Hi there folks! I have this item I bought at a flea market last year and haven't the slightest clue what it is or what it was used for. An elderly gentleman suggested this may have been used on the railroad but was equally confused.
The only theory I have is that this may have been used in coupling/uncoupling train cars. Otherwise, I'm completely confused. :confused: Here's some pictures of this. Anyone knows what it is?

View attachment 31644
Closeup of the handle
View attachment 31645
Closeup of the head
View attachment 31646
The whole item.

Sorry for the picture quality. This is my first attempt at using a digital camera. We finally got the darn thing to download to the computer without shutting down the computer!:rolleyes: sign1
PS. The background clutter is due to a fall cleaning project in progress.:D

Attachments

• AMystery1.JPG
    AMystery1.JPG
    42.7 KB · Views: 209
  • AMystery2.JPG
    AMystery2.JPG
    32.1 KB · Views: 202
  • AMystery3.JPG
    AMystery3.JPG
    16.3 KB · Views: 205

Russ Bellinis

Feb 13, 2003
Lakewood, Ca.
Visit site
I think you are right. It looks like the handle part of the cut lever assembly used to release coupler knuckles from the side, so that the trainman doesn't have to go between the cars to uncouple.

Russ Bellinis

Feb 13, 2003
Lakewood, Ca.
Visit site
I just took another look at the pic, and on second thought I don't think it is a cut lever. The business end looks like some sort of pry bar. I would guess it may have been used on ice reefers at an icing dock, but I don't know for sure.

KCS

Nov 23, 2004
Shreveport, LA.