My second layout

jmurphy148

Nov 8, 2007
Cape Coral, Florida
The first one was the n-scale tutorial "Layout for the Absolute Beginner". It never went beyond the track laying stage except that it was wired up enough to have trains running. It now happily resides at the home of a friend. I'm still a beginner but have moved on to this layout with the invaluable help of another friend.

This layout uses Peco code 55 flex track and Peco electrofrog turnouts. The Atlas brand of Lenz LS150's are used to drive the Peco PL10W turnout motors and dcc control is via Lenz set 100. Once block control is implemented using Lenz components, the two main lines will be controlled by Railroad & Company Train Controller software while the freight and loco yards remain manual.

Progress pictures can be seen at Picasa Web Albums - John - Dogbone Junction

Please excuse the poor quality videos. My still camera just isn't cut out to do a decent job of movies. Im looking for a solution to that problem.

John

platypus1217

Feb 27, 2007
platypus1217.blogspot.com
Wow you have a lot of tracks there.

I was curious about the way you designed your yards. I see you have a separate one for each side of the mainline, but then within each one there also seems to be different areas. For example the orange yard has the horizontal spurs at the bottom, a large block of spurs on an angle in the middle and then a smaller block of spurs on an angle to the left of the larger block. Do these all have different function? What are you planning on using them for?

hot_drjones

Mar 4, 2008
Yarm, UK
Hello, Platypus...