My living room

Trbulnc

Feb 27, 2005
Here are a few pics. of my living room project I undertook. I ran HO scale track around the entire room and it is also functional. Took longer than I thought it would, but turned out nice in my mind.

Stephen

Attachments

• trains 003small.bmp
    36.1 KB · Views: 36
  • trains 004small.bmp
    62.1 KB · Views: 39

Trbulnc

Feb 27, 2005
Thanks! I was a little worried it would be a little too childish and tacky but it really doesn't to me, plus everyone who comes over thinks it is really cool, especially kids.

babydot94513

Member in training
Sep 1, 2002
Brentwood, Ca
Visit site
If you are happy with it that is all that matters.

Question: seeing as I have no engineering background, how do you figure out the radius of making such fluid turns in scale? If I were to attempt this I would be ashamed to show my feeble attempts.

Trbulnc

Feb 27, 2005
I started out with the corners of the wall, cut 45 degrees on the edges of the boards and centered them in the corners. I then went back and measured the straight sections and cut to length also at opposite 45 degrees so they would mate. This allowed me to join the edges easily and then just put a nail through the corners to hold them. I placed small blocks with counter bored screws in the studs along the length of the walls so the boards could screw into them. The track corners I completed with flextrack so they would fit especially around the door took a little tweaking. I am by no means a pro either, just took my time and followed the old rule of measure twice, cut once.

Grant B

Nov 1, 2004
San Francisco
Stephen
Nice Job, I wanted to do the same but my wife did not like the idea.....now instead of going around a room; it takes up a whole room.
At what height do you have it? Did you already have a picture rail on the wall?
I was going to go through a few walls since I already at the walls down at the time and then use the top of a large entertainment cabinet as the yard
Grant