My First Locomotive Build

Discussion in 'HO Scale Model Trains' started by timber, Dec 29, 2006.

1. timber

timber New Member

Since I've been building models for about 14 years I figure I'd give building one of these a try. Still waiting for the back handrail from Ahearn and once that's installed and painted I'm going to dullcoat and weather the handrails. Feedback welcome! :)

2. berraf

berraf Member

All I have to say is "very well done" :thumb:
    The loco looks just great and with some weathering it would be top class!
    I´m impressed!
  3. nhguy

nhguy Member

Nice Job on the model!
  4. LongIslandTom

LongIslandTom Member

It's a good start. :thumb:

Though I think you should consider at least adding a plow and the grab irons. It looks kind of naked without those. :D

You also might want to buy an A-line sunshade kit.. The ones that came with the Athearns look kind of ridiculous.. Sunshades are actually mounted at a slant (same angle as the roof slant)-- They aren't supposed to stick out horizontally like that.

Looking forward to seeing more progress!
  5. timber

timber New Member

Thanks I'll looking into that kit. I also want to do some LED lighting in the future. Thanks for everyones feedback.
  6. Herc Driver

Herc Driver Active Member

Wow...nicely done!
  7. N Gauger

N Gauger 1:20.3 Train Addict

Very Nice!! :) :)
  8. KCS

KCS Member

That's what I live about Athearn Blue Box kits. Cut out all the fan's, grill's, drill out the grab iron holes, get a cab interior kit, new step's, shade's, hand rails, MU hose train line hose's, fuel tank detail set etc and you coule be on your way to becoming a craftsman builder. I love building like this. It takes time but you'll admire it to death because of the work you put in it. I'm hoping to start stock pilling parts for custom units. It's fun. Your off to a great start.
  9. timber

timber New Member