My first card model build

Discussion in 'Aircraft & Aviation' started by SgtSki in MI, Jan 3, 2008.

1. SgtSki in MI

SgtSki in MI New Member

Hey all,
    I just joined the forum the other day and have just completed my first card model build. I've built a couple with plain printer paper before this one but I'm NOT gonna show those. Anyway this P-51 was a freebie I found online and I learned a few tricks as I was building it, so I printed it again for another go-around. I'm in Iraq and had received some building supplies from my wife, so this was my first go using something other than plain paper, an Elmer's glue stick, and the scissors on my Swiss Army Knife!

Other forum members have generously emailed me a whole mess of models, so I'll keep building and posting. As a long-time plastic modeler, I find card modeling something that can easily displace plastic as my favorite medium to work in. It doesn't take up much space, doesn't require a whole lot of special tools or supplies, and costs a heck of a lot less!

Attached Files:

2. lfl_jeetoon

lfl_jeetoon New Member

Are you in Iraq?
    My god!
  3. SgtSki in MI

SgtSki in MI New Member

Yeah I just can't get enough of this place. I've already thrown my hat in the ring to come back over next year. It's a nice break from my civilian job and the roads are nicer than Michigan roads.
  4. Lex

Lex Dollmaker

The Mustang has always been the symbol of the American air power, nice build Ski!!
  5. woww nice build on that bird:):) hey bro you keep ur helmet on stay locked and loaded and u get back to the states fast!!!! good luck to all u grunts in country YOUR DOING US PROUD!!!! UR OUR HEROS!!!
  6. smyfe

smyfe Member

Great build on the Mustang, and as for being a plastic modeller, I built them for nearly 30 years but haven't even looked at one since I found this site, there is something very satisfying about making a 3d model from flat sheets of paper. Be warned, you WILL get hooked:thumb:sign1:thumb:
  7. exzealot