My first build: Sleeping Beauty Castle

Discussion in 'Architecture Models' started by PaperRonin, Jul 26, 2008.

1. PaperRonin

PaperRonin Member

First, hi everyone!

I am new to cardmoddeling, but found this forum relatively quick :thumb:
    Wanted to show you guys/girls my first over paper model, doing the Sleeping Beauty Castle for my daughter...

Few shots from my first 3 hours cutting and bulding:

More to follow!

Also, I am thinking about modelling a few things myself, not new to 3D stuff, so I might pick up same (game) models in the near future too...

:wave: later all :wave:
  2. SCEtoAux

SCEtoAux Member

That is a nice looking model once it is finished. :)
    I used some cheap costume jewelry chain for the drawbridge.

Attached Files:

3. paulhbell

paulhbell Guest

Looks good. Is this the one from the Disney experience web site, I've built that one, but the stones on your build have a different texture to mine. Compair the photos in the first post to the one that SCEtoAux has finished. The stones in the SCEtoAux's post have square corners, like mine.
  4. PaperRonin

PaperRonin Member

It IS indeed the Disney Experience model of the castle, I guess they updated the model somewhat after you guys finished building.

@ SCEtoAux:

Nice touch using the chains :) I think I will do the same with mine, had some silvery thread that I wanted to use, but this looks so much nicer :thumb:
  5. paulhbell

paulhbell Guest

Hell of a challange taking this on for a first build, good luck.

I agree with SCEtoAux, it is an impressive model when finished.
  6. PaperRonin

PaperRonin Member

At first I thought: "A Hell of a challenge for a first build, this aint too bad at all!" Well, I must say, I am confident I will do this right, but those turrets with all the tiny arching "finger" pieces on them... wall1wall1wall1

Will make photo's soon, the front entrance, five turrets and a tower by now. (Building for a few hours a week, family needs me too :mrgreen:)