My early models.

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by Just_because, Nov 16, 2007.

1. Just_because

Just_because Member

Hi guys, sorry I haven't introduced myself before. I'm Raul, I live in Mendoza, Argentina. I was born in USA but my parents returned to Southamerica when I was very young. I'm a teacher of English. I've been making my own models since I remember. I made them myself always trying to use cardboard. Later on I began using some other materials.

The AT-AT was made in 1995, it's 1 m tall and 1,50 m long. I made it 5 times bigger than the plastic model I had. I used a caliper to take all the measurements from the plastic kit and tried to reproduce every single detail. The head and the legs are moveable. I used 2 and 3 mm cardboard. When I finished cutting all the pieces my arms looked like popeye's :mrgreen:. If you watch carefully there's and snow speeder "passing" thru its legs.

The R2-D2 was also made with cardboard but I remember using one that was already white and much harder. R2 doesn't have the original scale because I couldn't find a bigger sphere for the head. But it rolled like a madman!! I modified and added a remote control Lamborghini (without the body) in the front foot that was apparently to powerful for the little droid!!:mrgreen:

As you have already seen I'm a huge fan of Starwars and my favorite character has always been Mr. Vader. I also worked on my costume. I made the gloves, the cod piece, the neck piece, the box in the chest (with lights and everything) and the shinguards. Since then (1997) I've been going to all the STW openings in one of the shopping malls and one of the Blockbusters video stores here in Mendoza. Never asked for money but I've always received some great gifts from the managers there!
    If you wanna see more pictures of those events just let me know.

Hope you enjoy the pictures! Nice meeting you all!!

Ossie (my nick name at school)

Attached Files:

2. dansls1

dansls1 Member