my best effort

3duvalls

Hi all, I am a brand new member of this forum. I have been reading several posts and you guys have a goldmine of information here. I want to introduce myself and tell you my goals as a new member of this group. I am a disabled electrical engineer. I have Parkinson's Disease. With this being said, I have a little spare time on my hands and knowledege of techie things. My thirteen year old and I have been playing with the idea of building a model for several years. As time presses on, I see college a few years down the road and then who knows. So, now is the time for father and son to move on this. We love trains, completely! I have a nice finished room 15' x 15' designated for the new layout. We have hoarded away HO trains for a long time for the project. Now, I want to do it right. I looked in the tutorials and found some info on soldering. I am quite handy and eager to start but what first...lol

Where can I find an overview on how to begin the layout?

Oh, and have I met the requirements for the epass or idbadge? If not, please advise me.

Thanks again and I hope to be a productive member of The Gauge!!!

CCT70

Welcome to you and your son. What type of layout are you thinking of building? Around the walls? Peninsula style? What era and locale?

Cannonball

More Trains Than Brains
Welcome aboard the board! :)

ePasses are not exclusive to the gauge. It's become an interesting side hobby that spans the globe. As far as the ID badge goes, I think that is pretty much open to whatever member decides to make one.

I'm jealous of your room already. 15x15 would be so cool.....

ezdays

Out AZ way
Welcome to the Gauge, sounds as if you've got things going in the right direction. Nice size room. There is a wealth of information here, as you have already found, and I know others are eager to help you along the way.