My 1st railfanning picture

Biased turkey

Apr 10, 2006
Montreal, Canada Eh
I've always been interested in trains since I was a kid in Belgium. I was happy enough to see the steam era. NowI pay for it because I'm old :)

I went to the local CNR down the road to take some measurement on the ballast ( I suspects that N scale cork roadbed is too wide so I wanted to know how many millimeters I have to trim ).
I was lucky to take that picture because not having a scanner I didn't know when a train will arrive or depart the Taschereau yard.

This is the # 7070 CN engine . It has 2 axles per truck, so I ruled out an SD engine.
Is there any way for me to check the engine model if I know the engine nubmber ?
Could it be a GP18 or a later GP model ?
I'm a newbie but I doubt a 40 years old engine would still be running.

I really had some fun taking the picture.

Attachments

• ScaledEngine.jpg
    ScaledEngine.jpg
    36.3 KB · Views: 33

railwaybob

Jun 15, 2003
Ottawa, Ont
www.railwaybob.com
You need to pick up the Canadian Trackside Guide available from your local hobby shop or available from Bytown Railway Society. It lists all locos in Canada. Cost is about $25 -$28. A must if you are doing any railfanning.

Biased turkey

Apr 10, 2006
Montreal, Canada Eh
Thanks for the nice words and for suggesting the Canadian Trackside Guide ( I saw a copy of it at my LHS ).
At least I found an answer to my question at:
GP9 - CN Lines SIG
The 7070 is a GP9 .I can't believe it was built in ... 1956 and still running.
What's the average life of a Diesel engine ?

doctorwayne

Sep 6, 2005
Canada, eh?