MRC Prodigy Advance And Sound...

Lighthorseman

Jul 24, 2002
Out in the sticks
Visit site
While I'm NO DCC expert by any means, I have a sort of overall grasp of the idea. I'm looking to eventually pick up a DCC system, and really liked the MRC Prodigy. I had spoken with people, however, who said that it would NOT be a wise purchase, and that I should go with a Digitraxx Zephyr instead.

Now MRC has come out with the Prodigy Advance. Here are my questions, if someone might indulge me.

First Off... I'm running a single track main narrow gauge On30 layout, with a small branchline, resulting in certainly no more than about 3 or 4 locos running at one time.

Secondly... Since getting my hands on a BLI C-16, sound will be a big priority. It's really important that my future DCC system is sound compatible, and that I can make use of all the sound features of a typical "Quantum" system, or available sound units for both locos, and static sound features.

Thirdly... The biggest reason I initially liked the MRC system was that it had a walk-around handheld controller. My layout would absolutely require one of these, and with any other system, I'd have to separately purchase one...or two. I can't see myself wanting to upgrade to infrared control later, so a plug-in type is fine.

So, my questions... are as follows. Will the MRC Prodigy Advance be a good choice for a layout such as mine? Are there any issues with regard to sound? Does this system have some sort of "memory" feature so that I can unplug my controller, walk to the other side of the layout, and plug it back in...without the train stopping?

...Anything else anyone can think of?

Thanks to anyone who takes the time to read this, and especially to those with answers. :)

SteamerFan

Sep 3, 2004
Lighthorseman said:
First Off... I'm running a single track main narrow gauge On30 layout, with a small branchline, resulting in certainly no more than about 3 or 4 locos running at one time.