Most common used card stock?

Discussion in 'Tips, Tutorials & Tools' started by Brian_Va, Oct 22, 2006.

1. Brian_Va

Brian_Va New Member

Total newb here, my son and I have discovered card models for when we can't do r/c models. The only question I have found no answer for (odd as it seems) is the prefered paper/card stock for inkjet printers. Any suggestions? Best most common stock used?
  2. cgutzmer

cgutzmer Guest

Its totally your preference and what the piece it you are building. I recently started using 110 lb cardstock and really like it for most applications. I do need to print on lighter stock (prolly use 44 lb) for some of the tight rolls. Really the best way to figure it out is to try using a few different weights and see how you like it.
    p.s. welcome to the forums! glad to have another person around :D
  3. Kaz

Kaz Member

Yes, a warm welcome.
    Now, here in the UK we use a different way to 'weigh' the paper, and as someone else said, the gsm or lb of paper doesnt always run in a linear fashion. Sometimes you can find a very dense paper but its quite thin... and conversley a thicker, more bulky paper will weigh less.
    Here is a quick place to decipher the weight conversions, but find sa paper store you like and experiment with several types of paper available. Then you need to make sure they can get it regularly!
  4. Brian_Va

Brian_Va New Member

Hey thanks ya'll. Now that we have established weight, what about finish? Gloss, semi gloss, flat?
  5. cgutzmer

cgutzmer Guest

normal plain old finish paper for me. Gloss is hard because the coating prevents glue from sticking. You have to sand it off or some such (usually) You can use a glossy fixative of some sort to make it glossy if you want or goat the model after its completed. I have never done that myself but maybe others can help there...
  6. hpept

hpept Member