Modular Layout

Rescue1

Hello All,

I am a newbie to the whole model railroad construction. I have been interested in the hobby for years and have been reading up and collecting vehicles and trains for thelast 3 or four years.

I am 23 and have finally gotten settled into a small apartment that has an adeqate spare bedroom for a smaller layout and im determined to finally build my first descent layout.

My idea since the rent is on a bi-monthley basis I want to build a layout that is in a modular form so that if things dont work out at my new place it can easily be broken down into the mods, transported and then reasembled in the my new place with minimaldamage to the layout structure.

I have never in any magazine seen a layout constructed in this manner so I was asking for ideas and a little help. Has anyone built anything along these lines or seen anything along these lines. Is this idea even possible given the complexity most layouts need for track lay and scenerey construction. I obviously need it to be sturdy but easily brokrn down if I need to move.

Thanks,
for help and advice

Andrew

MasonJar

It's not rocket surgery
Hi Andrew,

Welcome to The Gauge!

We have a Modular forum here -> http://www.the-gauge.com/forum49-modular-layout-forum.html

The first thread is a list of resources for all scales/types of modular construction.

I belong to www.hotrak.ca, an Ottawa based modular group that uses two types of modules: standard (double track close to the front of the module) and free-mo (single main, centred). The variety of layouts possible is quite staggering. Our annual "rally" has enough modules to make up about 14 scale miles of mainline running!

Take a look through the Modular Forum to see if it helps. Sept 2004 Model Railroader has an article written about a modular layout that is actually part of our club.

Andrew

Russ Bellinis