Micro Trains Couplers and Trucks

Nscalemodeler

Aug 10, 2004
Minneapolis, MN
I'm new to N scale railroading after having sold all of my HO equipment. I hear all about the Micro Trains couplers and would like to switch the cars and locomotives to this type of coupler. I have Bachmann, Life-Like and Atlas locomotives and freight cars, no passenger at this time. The questions are:

1. Should I switch just the couplers or the entire truck assembly with the attached couplers?

2. How do I know what type to buy if I switch the entire truck assembly, Bettendorf, Roller Bearing?

3. What else do I need to know?

Thanks for the help,
Jeremy

sschaer

Aug 23, 2004
all my cars have the 1035 (?) trucks. this might not be correct but provides reliable operation

OwenCPR

Dec 23, 2003
Okotoks, Calgary AB Canada
Visit site
Jeremy,

See my earlier thread re micotrain couplers. For the freight equipment, I would recommend switching out the entire truck assembly. The Microtrain trucks and wheels IMHO run far better than the other brands. As for which truck assembly, it would depend on the era and location you are modelling (I'm not the expert on this one!!!)

SD90

May 23, 2003
Canada
Visit site
I've switched all of my cars to microtrains trucks and couplers. Most of them are the 1035's also, I got tired of my trains breaking apart with Accumates. I found they were ok as long as you didn't get trains longer than about 20 cars, after that, they would brak apart. The Micro trains trucks also roll very good.

engineshop

Apr 29, 2003
San Rafael, CA USA
www.engineshop.org
If you want the couplers on the truck, switch to Micro-train truck with pre-installed couplers. It is not much more expensive and every coupler is the same height. You could body-mount the coupler and just cut off the coupler housing on the original trucks but than you have to get all the couplers lined up with each other. Not an easy task in N-scale.
Roland
www.engineshop.org

Belmarvalley

Jul 1, 2003
Visit site