Market Survey- Laser Cut Wish List

Discussion in 'General Card Modeling' started by bclemens, May 13, 2008.

1. bclemens

bclemens Member

Greetings, all.

I am considering investing in a laser cutting outfit as a business venture. As an avid paper modeler, I see the potential to provide laser-cut accessories for paper models. I'd like to do some market research here to see what kind of potential might be in this...

What kind of things would you like to see available as laser-cut sheets that are not readily available now? Ship railings? Ladders? Tank tracks? Other generic things? Any input you can give would be most welcome!

2. logicman

logicman Greybeard

Blank disks in various standard diameters & thicknesses, for laminating.

Maybe some standard spoke arrangements: 4,6,8,12 spokes?

Great for trains, cars, tanks, about everything really.

3. bclemens

bclemens Member

Excellent! Yes, disks would be very handy and could be provided in assorted sizes and thickness. The spoke arrangements could extend out a ways and be easily trimmed and matched with laser-cut rims of various diameters to make wheels of assorted sizes- good idea, thanks!!
  4. Stev0

Stev0 Active Member

Pretty much anything thin and difficult to cut by hand or requires repetitive cuts.

What about formers? Nothing like a perfectly shaped former. =)
  5. bclemens

bclemens Member

Hmmm...indeed. Then I'd have to buy all the popular models in order to design the formers :) Sounds good to me!
  6. cdavenport

cdavenport Member

With a good scanner and file conversion software, you could scan the original and transfer files to the laser cutter.

BTW, all perfectly legal since you are selling accessories.

I can think of one use right off the bat...bulkheads for Digital Navy products. They may even be willing to work out a deal with you.
  7. Art Decko

Art Decko Member

How finely can a laser cutter cut cardstock?
  8. bclemens

bclemens Member