Marek Brewster Buffalo build

Discussion in 'Aircraft & Aviation' started by Larry Marshall, Oct 4, 2006.

1. Here I go again...acting silly. I'm a newbie. I make lots of mistakes. My cardmodeling skills are limited and sloppy. Still, it seems a worthwhile venture to document the trials and tribulations of a newbie as he tries to gain control over the medium.

This time around I'm building a Marek Brewster Buffalo. Apologies in advance to the designer. This is a nice model and ideal for the beginner, I think. It doesn't have any interior which simplifies the build some and the art is very pleasing. It is likely that I'll build a second one with interior and clear canopy at some point as I'm a big fan of fat airplanes with round engines.

In this case, I took Marek's 1:50 design and enlarged it to 1:32. I felt the larger size would give my four thumbs more room to work and the errors would be easier to spot, though these seem all too easy to see in my builds.

I started with the fuselage, whose construction uses double-former butt joints. I REALLY like having some internal structure in a card model. It makes me feel as though I'm in firmer ground. It does have challenges, however. Formers must be sized properly and the definition of 'properly' requires some thought.

Here's a photo I sent to Carl with "help" in the subject heading. I'd gotten the impression from his builds that he was making pairs of formers identical and that's what I was trying to do. Doesn't work because of the expanding/contracting nature of the fuselage.

Cheers --- Larry

Attached Files:

2. So, once I discussed it with Carl, I went back and started over, creating a former that would 'match' its mate but also produce the expanding nature of the rear fuselage as it comes forward. I did this by a whole bunch of sand and fit work until the former would allow for a smooth surface transition...or sort of a smooth surface transition.

Attached Files: