Looking for ultimate 4' x 8' layout

Discussion in 'G / O / S Scale Model Trains' started by Lionel-Ritchie, Feb 16, 2006.

1. Lionel-Ritchie

Lionel-Ritchie New Member

I am completely new to model RR's. I want to build an O gage Lionel set with Diesel DCC locomotives. I have room for a 4' x 8' board but *could* stretch it to 5' x 9'. I've been looking and looking at 4' x 8' layout books and can't find what I want. I want the ultimate 4' x 8' layout...any opinions? I want a passing lane and a yard. Please help!
  2. Philinbos

Philinbos Member

I've never modeled O gauge so can't directly address your question, however your local hobby shop should have several books on designing layouts- Kalmbach Publishers catalog lists several publications:
    KAL-8185 " Your 1st Lionel layout" KAL-8215 Realistic O Gauge Track Plans", KAL-8275 "Layout Plans for Toy Trains" and several others covering fright yards, layouts, wiring and trackside structures. Your public library may even have some of these - most are under $20.00
  3. pgandw

pgandw Active Member

The ultimate depends on what your personal vision of what a layout should look like is. With a 4x8 in 3 rail O you are limited to diameter of the curves you use. The width of the table limits the curves.

Atlas has an O45 (45 inch diameter curve), also O36, and O27. Their switches for your use have O36 curves.

Lionel Fastrack uses O36 curves and O36 switches.

MTH Realtrax has both O31 and O42 curves and switches. None of these easily mate iwht each other.

The traditional tubular track comes in 2 heights - O27 and O (O31). Within each height there are also 042 curves and switches. Most of the other track systems make adpaters to mate with tubular track. But the easiest way to go when starting new is to pick one track system and stick with it. O27 is the cheapest but some locomotives and cars won't take the O27 curves, especially on the switches. The bigger diesels in particular may have problems.