Logging Layout Up for Comments

belg

Apr 28, 2001
New Jersey USA
Visit site
Eric I'm not an expert on track planning but I think some additional info like towns, business locations and so forth would help people figure out if it will work

jon-monon

Aug 15, 2002
Cobblers Knob, IN
www.2guyzandsumtrains.com
I like your plan Eric! You're off to a good start. I also like the fact that you are using RTS, because we can exchange files if we like :D

It depends what part of the logging operations you are wnating to model. I think you plan would make a great industrial layout, including the processing part of logging. If you want to focus more on the harvesting of logs, then you would perhaps want less track and more scenery. If you want to cover all aspects, you might go half and half.

I recomend reviewing Shamus's site for track plans:

http://www.badger-creek.co.uk/

Just click "track plans" to see a lot of logging plans. Also check out the pics on both sites, above and his newest:

http://www.cooncreek-and-tumbleweed-springs.co.uk/

Now, you'll need to decide what aspects of logging you will have on-layout, and what, if any, will be implied. You already specified 50's, so you can use trucks to bring the logs in to the trains if you want to avoid modeling much of hte harvesting ops. Or you may decide to model mostly the woods and the loggers felling trees and loading them onto logging cars on rickety tracks.

The one thing I would change, regardless of what you want to model, is I would change it to a single mainline.

BTW: you can post your rail images here using the IMG tags (the buttons above where we type in our posts) and place the image location for the photo (it's url). In doing so you are not limited in size and quantity of photo's per post. This image url is http://www.railimages.com/albums/ericbrehm/aad.sized.gif There is a link at the top of the page that tells how to get the image url.

shamus

Registered Member
Dec 17, 2000
UK
Hello Eric,