Locomotive repair; seeking Ray Marinaccio's input.

Discussion in 'FAQs' started by Dave Pollard, Dec 21, 2006.

1. Dave Pollard

Dave Pollard New Member

I am new to the model train world. It is best to assume I know only what Andrew and Russ have contributed to my other thread, "How do I determine the gauge of my train?", because, that is literally all I know about model trains.

I am trying to repair a locomotive and tender which worked fine last Christmas. This year it will not run. Please refer to my other thread for details. The short story so far:

1. Trucks on the tender are ok... not rotated out of positions.
    2. I get resistance with an ohm tester on the tender, but, not the locomotive.
    3. When I push the lever to energize the track and use my hand to push the
    locomotive, the locomotive headlight comes on but, the wheels do not turn on
    either the tender or the locomotive.

Can someone help?

Andrew informs me that Ray Marinaccio is good with locomotive repair. If you are reading this, Ray, please help.

2. MasonJar

MasonJar It's not rocket surgery

I am sorry that I missed the note about it running last Christmas... I didn't realize it was that recent.

In that case, it is likely that a good cleaning will go a long way to making it run better. See my comments in your original thread. DOn't forget too to clean the track! If it is brass or steel, it has likely accumulated enough oxidation to stop the train from working reliably. Start with alcohol on a lint-free rag. You can use metal polish as well, but generally try to avoid anything abrasive, like sanding the rails. Alcohol can also be used on the wheels of the loco on a cotton-swab.

3. Ray Marinaccio

Ray Marinaccio Active Member

Hi Dave,
    After reading the original thread I am going to guess that what you have is one of Tyco's tender driven locos.
    Does the tender look like this?

Attached Files:

4. Dave Pollard

Dave Pollard New Member

Ray's reply; tender-driven locomotive.