Lionel question from a Lionel newby

Discussion in 'G / O / S Scale Model Trains' started by Russ Bellinis, Nov 17, 2006.

1. Russ Bellinis

Russ Bellinis Active Member

I've been modeling in ho scale for 20 or 30 years, and belong to a ho scale module railroad club. My oldest grandson will be 2 in Jan. and his little brother is about 6 weeks old. I retired from my job last May, and while at a childrens summer camp where I do volunteer work, they asked if I new someone who could rebuild an Izusu diesel engine in a Mustang tractor. I told them I could do it, so we made arrangements for the maintainance director to bring the engine down the mountain to me. I called my old service manager to see if I could use the steam cleaner on the engine yesterday morning. Jack said ok, so I met the director at Carrier Transicold. My old service manager is also a fishing buddy of Rod Carew. When I got to the shop, jack had enough boxes of trains in the back of his truck to fill the back of my Dakota! Rod bought a bunch of trains when he retired from baseball, but got bored and stored them in Jack's garage. I guess he told Jack to go ahead and get rid of the trains. I finally went through the boxes tonight. I found a LGB starter set, a Lionel set, a bunch of ho stuff, and even Marklin a/c ho stuff.