Lionel Pennsylvania Flyer upgrade path

Discussion in 'G / O / S Scale Model Trains' started by gfmucci, Dec 25, 2006.

1. gfmucci

gfmucci Member

Does this set have a good upgrade path, or should I start with a different set? By upgrade path, I mean the use of the remote electronics system for accessories and other features.

For example, would I be able to continue to use the same engine and transformer, which are the two most expensive components of the set? I am new to Lionel.

The two sets I had in my lifetime were a basic American Flyer in the 50's inherited from my older brothers, and a small Bachman HO set in the 80's. I'd like to really grow into the new Lionel.
  2. Dave Farquhar

Dave Farquhar Member

I think it's a very good way to get started. Retail value of the track, cars, and transformer alone is close to what you pay for the whole set. There are no electronics to speak of in that set, but you can get an aftermarket upgrade board to put TMCC in the locomotive if you want. You may want a bigger transformer if you get a bigger layout with TMCC, but you can still put that transformer to work powering accessories and stuff like that.

And that locomotive is a good value for the money. It has a reputation for being a very good puller.
  3. gfmucci

gfmucci Member

Thanks for your comments, Dave. Where would I go for the upgrade board for the engine? I want to begin adding resouces to my website favorites. And what are your thoughts about "FastTrack" compared to standard track? Is it strickly a matter of cost vs. convenience and slightly better appearance? Switches cost more - twice as much? I understand there is better variety in some components.
  4. Dave Farquhar

Dave Farquhar Member

Digital Dynamics at has upgrade boards. I believe Electric Railroad Co., at, has them too, but it may just be sound upgrades.