Lionel or MTH?

Discussion in 'G / O / S Scale Model Trains' started by JoeGrapes, Dec 27, 2006.

1. JoeGrapes

JoeGrapes Member

Hi, I'm new to this. I had the old Lionel in the 50's when I was a kid and HO in the 70's. Now I want to get back into trains with o gauge. I'm going to build a layout around the walls of a finished room in the basement. I've been looking at Lionel and MTH steam engines. The middle of the road stuff. I'll be using 072 curves and Lionel O Gauge track with grades around 3% going up and maybe close to 4% going down. Should I go with one over the other? Proto Sound or TrainSounds? Any suggestions would be a great help. Thanks all.
  2. Geno

Geno Member

It all depends on what you want- are you going for a classic poswar look, a more modern scale layout with realistic scenery, weathered equipment and buildings, or a combination of both? Do you you have any trains now?

Most of the guys here seem to like 0 or 027 track both for reasons of economy and practicality. The O72 switches are nice, but at $75/ ea new, you're going to spend alot of money if you're using more than a few of them.

But there are plenty of track systems out there that have switches in the $40 range. Both Atlas and Gargraves are popular and reasonable in terms of cost. Fastrak is a bit more, but is a good performer and has the built-in roadbed, so it's gaining in popularity as well. I wouldn't recommend MTH Realtrax, as it's contacts will loosen over time and cause continuity problems.

Both Lionel and MTH offer nice steamers with and without command control. As far as sounds go, you'll get alot of opinions of both brands. But it can be gereally agreed that MTH's steamers have better smoke units, and that they have more models to choose from in both their Premier and Railking lines- the latter being the more affordable one.

Pick up some catalogs from your local hobby store, talk to as many train people as you can, and go from there.

3. JoeGrapes

JoeGrapes Member