Lionel DC transformer help

Discussion in 'G / O / S Scale Model Trains' started by nemad16, Nov 24, 2007.

1. nemad16

nemad16 New Member

Hi all, Newbie here - you have a great forum. I am trying to revive an ~25 year old Lionel O27 Gauge set with a DC powered loco. I am having several power issues and I'm wondering if anybody has repair suggestions. When I power it up, the train runs a bit even if the lever is all the way off. Then, I'll hear a 'clink' noise coming from the transformer and it stops running completely. Sometimes if I give the loco a nudge, it'll start up again. The transformer is a Lionel 4060 that powers the train with DC and accessories with AC. I have a light attached to the AC posts and it flickers on/off in sync with the train. It's not an issue with the loco as I had that checked out at a hobby shop. I'm guessing I need a new transformer, but AC/DC transformers are hard to come by on eBay. Does this problem sound like something that's fixable, or do I need to seek out a used but functional one elsewhere?
    Thanks in advance for any repair suggestions!
  2. 60103

60103 Pooh Bah

I'm not familiar with Lionel DC (although, unlike some other people, I believe it actually exists).
    The clink sounds like the circuit breaker opening. I don't know why, but the main reasons are short circuit or too much load. Since it goes with a nudge, there may be something touching like a (insulated) wheel to the frame or a nail that's been picked up.
    Ask the hobby shop how they tested it. You may be able to replace the DC transformer with a regular DC power pack (of sufficient amperage) or a Lionel transformer + rectifier unit + reversing switch.
    When it stops, try nudging it different directions e.g. side to side vs back and forth to see if one of those makes it work.
  3. Dave Farquhar

Dave Farquhar Member