Lionel 6466W Tender Electrical Problem

Discussion in 'G / O / S Scale Model Trains' started by ssorrell, Jan 29, 2007.

1. ssorrell

ssorrell New Member

I'm new to all this stuff, so please bear with me [​IMG]

I have what appears to be either a Lionel 6466W or 6466WX whistling tender that I have been repairing. When I apply electricity to the track, the tender will not whistle. However, when I hold the tender upside down in my hand, and apply current with two wires from the transformer, it whistles. When I perform the same operation with the tender in my hand, but right-side-up, there is no whistle.

I took the tender apart again to look more carefully and found that there appears to be an electrical component, transformer, or whatnot, mounted next to the whistle motor and fan. At the bottom of this piece is a small metal switch that appears to be open, but closes when I turn it upside down, which is the reason for what I observed in the first place.

My question is, should this switch, under normal operation, close itself due to an electrical magnetism, when current is applied? If this it not happening, are there any suggestions as to the cause, or possible a solution to the problem?

Thanks in advance for any help!

Scott Sorrell
  2. 60103

60103 Pooh Bah

Scott: is this an old Lionel? My 1950s vintage has a mechanism with a RELAY in it, which could look a little like a transformer.
    Somehow, this is a DC relay that doesn't pick up on AC. Lionel transformers have a rectifier and another bit of circuitry in them that puts a bit of DC on top of the AC and jacks up the voltage a bit. The DC causes the relay to activate, closes the switch and runs the whistle motor.
    I don't know if the old whistles are sensitive to the direction of the DC; I know the new ones are.
    You should have a lever or switch on your transformer labelled "Whistle". Some of the cheaper ones didn't.
  3. ssorrell

ssorrell New Member