Lighting for daylight balanced film?

Freddo

Jan 17, 2003
Visit site
Hi All,

I've got great Nikon 35mm equipment (nature photography is still a passion). I want to start photographing my layout progress for many reasons (besides posting here on The Gauge).

Please share your wealth of knowledge as I can't be the only dude (or dudette) using non-digital equipment.

Thanks to all in advance! - Fred

grumbeast

Jan 13, 2003
Dartmouth, N.S. Canada
www.accesswave.ca
I'm no photography expert, but I too use 35mm,
but I do have some tips about lighting. My wife
does a lot of video editing and I made her 4 photo
floods stands (another discussion if you're interested :)

we use regular outdoor floodlights (generally 3) but make
one of them blue, this evens out the tendency for indoor
light to give a greenish tinge to your photos.

The will undoubtedly be many other more experienced people
that will reply to this thread as can be seen from the many
amazing photo's that are posted :) but I wish you luck

Graham

jon-monon

Aug 15, 2002
Cobblers Knob, IN
www.2guyzandsumtrains.com
Hello Freddo, I still use the old goat, a Minolta X700, and probably will as long as I can see to focus it. Your strobe should be daylight balanced and you need a filter for tungsten or halogen flood lamps. At the very bottom of the front page, under archives, there is the academy, and you should find a how-to on model photgraphy. Very good information, including what filter you need (I want to say 80 B and C). Shamus has it on his website as well. You can click on the Badger Crick Logo here Highly recommended reading. I too was more experianced in outdoor lighting and found it helpful.

shamus

Registered Member
Dec 17, 2000
UK
Hi Freddo,
As Jon stated, you can go to my website, or use this link for "Photography"
http://www.paultemplar.pwp.blueyonder.co.uk/mrp.htm

Cheers
Shamus
wink.gif

Freddo

Jan 17, 2003
Visit site
Silly Me...

Thanks Shamus...