life-like model trains

helicopter arms

what are the reputation on these model trains?

most likely the HO series.

the reason is i want to start making a scenery with train track. I am a complete beginner and I have just bought a couple books about model trains.

However, my mother wants a train for under the christmas tree, so i thought it would be a good idea to just mess around with a cheap train for the tree before I spend some good money.

Ive seen the life-like HO model trains for around 70$. they look pretty decent but of course i don't know much else? any ideas on this?

jim currie

:wave: welcome to the gauge. life like is good for under the tree thing but not very good for modeling unless you get the proto 1000 or 2000 stuff.

helicopter arms

whys that?
because of material used? detail?

also, ive seen some extremely cheap bachmann fullset modesl for around only 40$ on ebay. why are these so cheap? thanks

MasonJar

It's not rocket surgery
With trainsets, price is a really good indicator of what kind of quality you get. Bachmann and Life-like trainsets are poorly detailed, and lack any real quality. There is a cheap powerpack, and cheap track included.

However, both Bachmann and Lifelike make excellent engines (Spectrum and Proto1000/2000 respectively).

You'll get ok performance for once a year under the tree from the sets, but don't expect anything more.

Andrew

helicopter arms

thanks for the info.

but besides detail? what else could go wrong?

maybe it can break down, but with once a years use... i doubt it
derailing?

Marxed

if you take care of your stuff, i'm sure it will last nicely, they are a popular make and if they sucked, i wouldnt see them still in business

my marx trains are considered "toy-trains" by people and hell, they have lasted 70 years and are still running strong without any problems what soever, while everyone i know with lionels have enough problems with stuff breaking

Russ Bellinis