Layout Questions from Beginner

drev

Feb 5, 2004
Northumberland, PA
Visit site
Hello!! I am just getting started in HO railroading, so I have some basic questions. I would like to use layout #63 in MR's "101 track Plans" which is the Rio Grande Southern. I like this layout because it will fit nicely into the space I have and I look forward to being able to build some bridges.

My questions have to do with this layout and basic modelling rules I have picked up in my reading and web work. I understand that turnouts should be at least #6, curves should be at least 30" radius and certainly no less than 24", that all curves should have easements and inclines should be no more than 2%. This layout I am looking at disregards all of these suggestions. The turnouts are #4, the curves are predominantly 18" radius, some of the curves do no appear to have easements and the inclines are generally 3% to 4%.

What do I do?? Do I disregard the advice that seems to be the norm or do I find another layout?? If I build it as is, what limitations are inherent in doing so??? Also, does anyone know where I could get a more detailed sketch of this layout, possibly with pictures??

Thanks for helping a newbie.

Mark Hagy

Welcome to the Gauge Mark (another Pennsylvania-ite).
I think it depends more on what you are going to model. The larger the loco, the longer the cars, the longer the train the more you will need to open things up. Those parameters wouldn't bother an SW1500 switcher but may play havoc with a long wheelbase passenger train. Probably should know what you plan to model to help answer that. If you're doing a logging layout, for example, none of it would be an issue.

Doc Holliday

Oct 27, 2002
Big Valley, California
This layout I am looking at disregards all of these suggestions. The turnouts are #4, the curves are predominantly 18" radius, some of the curves do not appear to have easements and the inclines are generally 3% to 4%.