Layout operations

toolman

Mar 23, 2005
east brunswick nj
:wave: HI everyone. I am new to the gauge. My layout I run operations using a simple card system. The card is a 3 x 5 index card. I use postits for the routing, interchange to yard to what industry, remarks, where the car came from and to what industry and contents of the car. Spotting I use paper clips to inform what spot to use. I use these cards for the engine work orders. These cards are hand written.... some day I'll have a stamper made up. I also use the postits for bad order if any car or engine has a operating problem.
time to I will update my progress of what went right and what went wrong and how I corrected it..... Toolman

brakie

Nov 8, 2001
Bucyrus,Ohio
Visit site
Hi toolman.. :wave: Welcome to the gauge! :D
Like you I also use hand written index cars for waybills.However,I cut the index card in half..This half shows routing,name of industry,type of load and town where the industry is located..I color code these index cars by town where the industries is located..I attach these to my car cards using paper clips. Works for me! :D

toolman

Mar 23, 2005
east brunswick nj
Index cards

Brakie, good to hear you. I like to experiment and give try with your system. I have an industry called the Steel Drum co, the in and out bounds come from various places and go to other various places.

Ralph

Remember...it's for fun!
Jun 18, 2002
St. Paul, MN
Visit site
Thanks for posting in the operations forum toolman! Its good to hear more about how people are running their layouts. Do keep us up to date!
Ralph

Tileguy

Apr 28, 2003
Northern Mn
Visit site
The car card and waybill system i find to be great. Making up the car cards with pockets doesnt take very long(or they can be purchased)