Layout ideas for beginner?

Discussion in 'N / Z Scale Model Trains' started by PinkPig, Jul 18, 2004.

1. PinkPig

PinkPig New Member

Hi there,

I'm a beginner considering building a model railway. The space I have to work in is pretty small, perhaps 32'' x 40'', so N gauge seems to be the best option. I like the look of some of the layouts at, are there any good examples of any layout done at this size, and how it can look?

I also don't have any N gauge stuff at all, and am wondering how to get started - what sort of track / transformed / trains are best for a beginner, and where can I buy these in the UK? Also, any advice on how to make a baseboard?

Thanks for any help,

2. Ray Marinaccio

Ray Marinaccio Active Member

3. tillsbury

tillsbury Member

Hi Matthew,

I've only recently started, but I can offer the following ramblings if they are of any use... The example layouts on the thread suggested by Ray look absolutely great, although I'd strongly suggest a runaround track at least somewhere on the layout. Either that or substitute a timesaver for the inglenook (or have both!). Before you decide on the layout, take a long hard look at some of the shelf and micro-layouts (of any scale -- just google search for those words) to see how cool very small switching layouts can be. Remember that you'll (soon) want to extend the layout, and you can do this with a modular-style thing (makes it easy to move and put up and down), to get longer runs and loops later.