Laying down road bed

Johnr0836

Mar 8, 2007
I printed my layout on paper, full size. I'm thinking of using wall paper paste to glue the paper to the foam and then use silicon caulk to glue the road bed to the paper. Has anyone done this? I've never worked with foam before. Do you think the wall paper paste will be sufficient to hold the paper to the foam? Thanks.

John

Nomad

Sep 26, 2006
Elks Plain, Washington
John,I see a big problem with that idea. When you ballast or do scenery(get it wet) the wallpaper paste will let go and loosen. What I have heard of most people doing is poke holes with a pin at the track centers,remove the paper and follow the pin holes to draw your track centers on the foam.

Loren

sumpter250

multiscale modelbuilder
Jan 19, 2002
Vernon Hills, Illinois
Visit site
I've never tried using wallpaper paste, on styrene foam. It can be a bit of a trial to get it to stick to a wall, so I would be seriously dubious as to it's holding power on foam, especially once it gets wet from scenery, or ballast work. (on the other hand, it just might be the best method yet. I would test it before going ahead with the layout)
Pete

Dansco

Feb 26, 2007
Pounce It!

My wife used to work in the Neon sign fabrication biz. She frequently had to translate designs from paper to asbestos fabric. She used what was known as a "pounce" wheel and a "pounce bag"

The wheel looked like a pizza cutter wheel with little spikes on it. Hers how it might work: First you affix the printed design to your desired medium, in your case the foam, then trace the desired lines with the pounce wheel. This creates a perforation of little holes where ever you traced. Next you take a "sock" full of marking chalk (for snapping lines etc) and "gently daub" (or pounce?) the perforations you just made, gently remove the paper and trace over the chalk dot to dot with a marker. Effectively transferring the design from the paper to the foam.