landscape materials? foam or plaster?

Discussion in 'FAQs' started by littlekahuna23, Jun 21, 2006.

1. littlekahuna23

littlekahuna23 New Member

I am trying to build some mountains, hills and general landscape around my track. I'm just getting started and having lots of fun. I have heard of others using plaster for their mountains and tunnels. BUt I'm looking for something lighter, like styrafoam. Where do I buy flat sheets of styragoam? Or do I need to go looking in dumpsters? What other materials and techniques are used to build dynamic landscapes?
  2. ezdays

ezdays Out AZ way

First of all, welcome to the Gauge. Secondly, I moved your thread here because it was in the "Product review" section and wouldn't have gotten the replies it should being there.

You can get the blue or pink extruded foam in most home centers like Lowe's or Home Depot, that is dependent on where you live. Try to avoid the white beaded foam at all costs since it is messy and difficult to work with. The little beads become attracted to everything, and it really doesn't cut well either.
  3. yellowlynn

yellowlynn Member

To add to what Don said, after you create the form or shape, then smear, paint, or glob plaster on top of that to give you a hard shell. Then carve rock faces.

4. jim currie

jim currie Active Member

:wave: welcome to the gauge :wave: I have used both on my next layout(under construction) I'm going to use both foam for the low hills and hard shell for high the way hard shell is not that heavy:)
  5. Biased turkey

Biased turkey Active Member

I'm just reading the book"N scale model railroading getting started in the hobby" the author ( Marty McGuirk ) uses extruded styrene for carving the hills, BUT on top of that he applies a thin layer of Sculptamold ( papier maché like stuff )