Kitbashing

Discussion in 'FAQs' started by sealpup, Feb 19, 2002.

1. sealpup

sealpup New Member

:confused: This is a first for me, I am relatively new to the hobby and I have been reading a lot in Model Railroader about kitbashing, I have three older B&O passenger cars that are in dire need of work. I was thinking about kitbashing them into the for that they would actually take as a real car. If anyone can give me some links to companies where I can purchase the styrene and all, I would appreciateit very much, also any helpful hints would be great. I am not a true newbie, as I have been working with HO for years, but I am new at the kitbashing. Thanks again!:eek:
  2. billk

billk Active Member

Hey Sealpup - I'd try a local hobby shop first, if you have one. Or an artsy-craftsy store. Probably you could get styrene from any of the several internet MRR places, but unless you combined ithe styrene with a much larger order, the S&H would kill you!
  3. Vic

Vic Active Member

Hi Sealpup, Evergreen Styrene makes a full line of scale styrene components and sheets. Lots of hobby shops and large craft stores like Micheal's or Hobby Lobby also stock them.

Also I have gotten some real good sheet styrene from a printing paper distributor. Apparently screen printers use it to make printed plastic signs. Lots of times they have just given me the left over "selvege" or scrap from cutting an order....Vic
  4. sealpup

sealpup New Member

Thanks for the help, now, what exactly do i need to focus on, am I adding an interior, or what?
  5. billk

billk Active Member

Sealpup - Is that a question, or are you thinking out loud?
  6. sealpup

sealpup New Member

:confused: :confused: :confused: It is a question, I am really new to kitbashing. What would you look at doing?:confused: :confused: :rolleyes:
  7. BDC

BDC Member