JU88 A4 1/32 by ModelArt

Discussion in 'Aircraft & Aviation' started by Nemesis7485, Oct 21, 2007.

1. Nemesis7485

Nemesis7485 Member

This is my third paper model and my first aeroplane. You can tell I'm new to paper models as this puppy took me around 180 hours over a 7 week period.

I came across a few issues with this build. Like I say, I'm new to it so it may be par for the course, but this kit had many parts incorrectly numbered, the formers for the fuselage were consistently too small and the instructional diagrams at times left alot to the imagination as to how to construct certain parts and where to put them.

In the end though, it didn't turn out too bad.

2. Texman

Texman Guest

Okay, let me make sure I understood. THIRD paper kit, and FIRST airplane? You, have skills you don't understand yet. That is simply
    amazing with the above mentioned conditions. Nicely done.

I personally hate to see what your 20th kit will look like.

3. Nemesis7485

Nemesis7485 Member

Thanks very much for your comments, Ray.

To be fair though, I have quite alot of experience with plastic aeroplane kits so I dare say that helped. I have to be honest, though. I'm finding paper kits way more of a challenge than plastic and far more enjoyable.
  4. Texman

Texman Guest

I know what you mean. I spent about 30 years in plastic. When I got a taste of winning contests, I started chasing the contest genie. As I build 1/144 scale aircraft, it shouldn't take 6-10 months to build one kit. So, as I discovered, paper kits give me more variety (because I can scale some of the more esoteric planes) so I can show aircraft that would never see the light of day in plastic. And, there is little cleanup and health problems than that that comes with plastic cements and paints. Plus, I can actually fill my cabinets with more than dust! Win/win for me.

Again, great job, and I look forward to many more.

5. dansls1

dansls1 Member

Looks good - thanks for sharing the pictures ;)
  6. sakrison