JSC 1:400 North Carolina Build

Teamski

Mar 29, 2007
Delaware
Hey folks,

I wanted to start another thread for the JSC 1:400 North Carolina now that interest in it started in the Dreadnought thread. I'm not a pro modeler, so please excuse any "shoddy" work, heheheh.... And I appoligize beforehand for any slow progress that may result and poor photos as shown. :twisted:

Anyways, Here are a couple shots of the start. The first one is of the completed hull short of the skin and the second with with the skin applied.

Feel free to ask any questions or offer advice.

-Ski

Teamski

Mar 29, 2007
Delaware
Jim asked about the poor fit of the superstructure around "B" turret. The first photo shows where I had to cut out a 1/8" or so around the back of the turret base to allow it to fit. Other than this and a small gap at the stern of the ship of the skin, so far so good for the first layer of the superstructure.

-Ski

eibwarrior

Dec 17, 2005
Knoxville, TN
All right! The NC. Now this is a model I've wondered about. Looks like you're off to a very good start Ski.

I'll follow your build with much interest.

Thanks for sharing. Can't wait for the next update.

Teamski

Mar 29, 2007
Delaware
Thanks! :)

I worked on the superstructure tonight. Again, no major issues. One thing I did forget was that the ribs for the 1st level superstructure were way too long, so I had to trim them down to fit. Nothing catastrophic....

-Ski

Jim Krauzlis

Sep 26, 2005
Copiague, Long Island, New York
Really great progress, Ski!:)

The substandard graphics on this early edition kit don't take away from your superb build of this model...actually, I like the way the teak decks look on your build. The blue hull color has always given me pause when I've seen it, but overall it has a very nice look to it, I think.

As always, looking forward to the next update!

Cheers!
Jim

Teamski

Mar 29, 2007
Delaware