ISO information source

Discussion in 'Getting Started' started by AMW, Oct 11, 2006.

1. AMW

AMW New Member

Hello, this is my first time visiting your forum and I am hoping you can point me in the right direction.

I am a pastry chef/sugar artist who is building a model train out of cake! I am trying to find an online source to give me exact outside dimensions of a (preferably) O gauge train. I need the dimensions for an engine, a coal car, flatbed, and caboose. Real life dimensions would work, also, or if I have to go small HO scale.

Can you help? Thank you-thank you-thank you!
  2. Jim Krause

Jim Krause Active Member

Welcome AMW. That's a tough question. My only suggestion would be to find a Lionel owner or club and physically measure the equipment that you want to create.
    Sounds like an intriguing project. Put some photo's on The Gauge when you get it finished. Or better yet we love "in progress" photo's. Can I lick the bowl when you are finished?
  3. Russ Bellinis

Russ Bellinis Active Member

You might also check for a local hobby shop in the area that sells Lionel trains. I was into a Kaybee toy store tonight and they had a battery powered train running on plastic track that was the same size as LGB. The train set was only $30.00, but if there is a toy store near you, they might have a train set up and running.
  4. Herc Driver

Herc Driver Active Member