Is this feasible in HO

Taylor

I'm fairly new to model RR and am working on my first layout in HO scale. One of my issues is space and am wondering if this a feasible plan.

I live in an apartment and the spare bedroom/office is where I'll be building. For now, I will not be able to go larger than a 4x8 layout. In the next 2 years, my wife and I should be purchasing our first house so I'm going to use my 4x8 to just get started and then expand when we get the house.

What I'd like to do is start building in Modules. I'll build a 4ft by 8ft table that will have a sheet of plywood on top. I will, however, be building the railroad on a 1/4 sheet of wood similar to that used in the rear of kitchen cabinets. I'd like to build in sections like this so I can both easily move it out when the time comes, and be able to section things back together, even in a different position when we get the house.

The first part of my project is to build a railyard. I've purchased a 2ft by 4ft piece of cabinet board and will build my yard on this. It will start off with 3 staging tracks (turnouts at both ends) and depending on structures, etc I'd expand to possible 6 tracks. The 'Northeast' and 'Northwest' sides will have track coming in from a mainline or a service line. The thought is when we get into the new house (and depending on space), I could change the location of this off to the side somewhere. I could then extend the layout beyond the original 4x8.

Anyhow, is it feasible to build a 4x8 layout in sections and piece it together in this fashion? Have you guys and gals heard of somebody setting their layout up like this?

hminky

I discuss building a 4x8 layout at:

http://www.pacificcoastairlinerr.com/4x8/

overall_1105.jpg

Thank you if you visit
Harold

MasonJar

It's not rocket surgery
Taylor,

Welcome to The Gauge!

Check the Modular Forum for plans on how to build your railroad 2x4 feet at a time... The link is in my signature...

Andrew

Ralph

Remember...it's for fun!