Discussion in 'Getting Started' started by Otto, Sep 23, 2006.

1. Otto

Otto New Member

Hello all,

My name is Otto, and I'm totally new to model railroading, although I've had an armchair interest for many years. I've recently been bitten by the bug to take the next step toward actually getting involved. My space, and time, is limited so I'm considering the Ntrak approach. Besides, if I start small, I might actually complete it, or at least be able to see the light at the end of the tunnel. :)

Right now, I'm trying to read all I can, and do the necessary investigation, to determine which type of layout I'm most interested in, and what time frame is of most interest. I'm leaning toward various industries on a small shortline with an edge toward a depressed, deferred maintenance setting.

I haven't bought any equipment yet since I still am not sure what I will need, or how much of it. Knowing me, it will probably be a lot. :) I really do want to start out slowly while I'm learning though to try to minimize mistakes in purchasing. I'm kind of leaning toward freestyle as opposed to actual prototype, at least in this early stage of the hobby. I'm also not sure if I should pursue DCC from the beginning instead of DC. But, being as green as I am to all of this, I really have no idea which way to go.

I'm sure I'll have many questions as time goes on, and appreciate any, and all, suggestions. I've read many of the posts on these forums as I've lurked here for awhile, and find this to be a very friendly, and helpful group. I hope to get started soon, and to be able to share my progress as I gain momentum.

2. eightyeightfan1

eightyeightfan1 Now I'm AMP'd

Welcome to the Gauge!
    You have questions.....We have.....Uh...Uh...a diverse group of people who can probably answer them.
    So...Ask away!
  3. ejen34

ejen34 Member

Welcome aboard Otto, certainly feel free to ask any questions you may have. I have found numerous experts on The Gauge, again welcome :thumb: