Introduce myself

Discussion in 'Gallery & Designs' started by NOBI, Feb 5, 2004.

1. NOBI

NOBI Active Member

Hi All,

I think many many modelers who build many many papermodels will have a dream, that dream is about have own papermodel with own design :D This section will make your dream come true, This is a section to make change of some modeler, This is a section of modeler who want to be a designer.

I'm NOBI. I'm glad to be here as moderator of this section. I must said that I'm not an expert on designing model. :oops: I design papermodel because I love to design. I want to share my technics or try to answer all question about design papermodel.

Welcome all modeler who want to be a designer or every designer to this section, you can share your technics, share your model, share your happily here. I will do the best as I can do...

Thank you very much, Ron to give me a chance... :wink:
  2. kooklik

kooklik Member

Hi Nobi
    I'm starting to design a u-boat with Rhino. I have a problem with unfold feature. Some hull plate I can't unfold it cause curvature analysis show me some red and blue area on the plates. How can i solve it ?

---- K ----
  3. marian

marian New Member

You need to make sure your hull segment is developable.

Rhino does determine this with near-mathematical accuracy, whereas paper in fact _can_ be formed spherically to a certain degree. So the fact that Rhino does not unroll a surface does not imply that you cannot in fact build the part.

My solution is to make Rhino happy in the 3D world and fudge the things I still need to fudge when moving to 2D.

How did you arrive at the surface that cannot be developed? Can you show the part? Or make it available for download[1]? I am sure lots of people are willing to help you with it. I for one would as I have received similar help myself.

Ciao, MM

[1] Do a "save as" under a different name, remove everything that is not required to debug the problem. Keep adjacent parts.
  4. kooklik