I'm new to trains....alot of DCC questions

ofnamp

With the research i have done i think i want to get started with DCC vise the DC. I have the Walthers catalog and have seen some DCC components like the Super Chief Premium Starter Set (245-SCF) but i have a few questions like if i get a Rivarossi Hiesler that is DCC ready do i still need a decoder for it or does the train come with one .....are decoder universal....so if someone could please tell me a good DCC controller and why they think it is good vise another brand i would greatly appreciate it. oh yeah one more thing what Train and track should i run.....Im not to worried about the time era but id like a steam style loco....and as far as scale i want to go HO and have alot of animation instead of focusing mainly on detail.......Thanks

Shawn

jon-monon

:wave: :wave: :wave: Welcome to the-gauge Shawn! :wave: :wave: :wave:

DCC ready means it comes with a universal connector installed so a decoder can easily be added by hte owner or hobby shop. It may be an important thing to look for in a loco if you don't like to do soldering and wiring. I'll let someone who knows what they are talking about asnwer the rest of your DCC questions :D :D :D

neilmunck

All NMRA decoders are cross compatible. That is to say a Lenz decoder will work with a Digitrax command station. They can all talk to one and other:D

Buy track with Nickel-Silver rail. It requires less cleaning and conducts better so there is less chance of the DCC signal getting scrambled or missed.

Pooh Bah
From your description, I would say buy code 100 track. Flexible track is a bit more trouble than the sectional, but it comes out cheaper and you can do more with it. Watch out for the sectional track with roadbed mounted; each make has different connections and they are NOT compatible.