im new at this

Discussion in 'RC General & Getting Started' started by Wvamateur, Nov 17, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Wvamateur

Wvamateur Member

im just getting started in rc cars. im thinkin of getting a traxxas rustler as my first, and was looking around for hop up parts for it and was looking at differnt electric motors. i was wondering what does 20 turn, 27 turn, 14 turn, etc.. what does it all mean which are faster

thanks in advance
  2. bandit1

bandit1 Member

hey man, ur question is a common asked question and easy to explain and understand.
    the fact is: the lower the number of turns, the more acceleration ull get out of it.for example a 6T(turn) motor will give u a ton of acceleration. the higher the number of turns, the more top end ull get out of it.for example a 27T(turn) motor will give u a lot of top end.
    Remember tho, that the lower the turns u make ur motor, the ESC has to be able to handle it, or ull end up with a burnt up ESC.
    hope i could help, any other questions about this, just ask.
  3. Wvamateur

Wvamateur Member

thanks man, so something like a 17T would be a good motor to replace the stinger 20T
  4. bandit1

bandit1 Member

ya,a 17T would be a good upgrade. Im going with the 13T but ive been around a 20T for so long, i think i can handle a 13T. But if i were starting out and wanted an upgade, something around a 17T is wat i would get. also remember that with the lower amount of turns, the faster ur battery will die, so keep that in mind too.
  5. timrock

timrock Active Member

badit is wrong about the motors......the lower # of turns the more power the motor will put out drawing more amps from the battery making your car faster but have less run time.27 turn is the # of turns in a regular stock motor.some newer kits like the Traxas Rustler come with 20 turn.