I'm BRAND NEW...

NewGuy

Apr 30, 2005
Inland Northwest
Well, I hope that I can find some interesting people in here and hope to gleen some knowledge to use for my layout. I am brand new to the hobby, started by the fact that I work for a railroad. In fact, I am so new, that I do not even have anything running as of yet. I have aquired a few pieces of rolling stock and some track, enough to make a complete return run, slightly more than that standard circle track, and a locomotive. I am staying with currnet era stuff for now, with the possibilty of early railroad era in the future. The types of questions I would like the answers to are the basic 'getting it all started' stuff, like code 83, 100, etc. (I know these have to with rail height.) Looking at some the photo in here, I am a little concerned because I have NO artistic talent, and some of this stuff just looks to great that people have built from scratch. I have no idea how to weather cars, engines and things. Nor do I have a good idea for getting the ground around the rail to really look like ground. I can barely sign my name so that is legible, much less attempt any airbrushing. But, with trial and error, and some stuff thrown in the garbage can after ruining it, maybe someday I will have a photo quality layout. I hope that I can ask things in here and get results. I have tried a few other places and seems like when I have question, it takes about a week for anyone to relpy. Not good for someone who wants to get some window shopping done to plan for a future purchase...

Thanks for letting me in...

JD

spitfire

Jul 28, 2002
Toronto, Canada
www.parkdaleyard.com
Welcome aboard JD! :wave:

Three years ago I was brand new to the hobby with a head full of questions -- and not much else! :rolleyes: But thanks to all the help and encouragement that I got here at the Gauge, I finally have a layout in progress.