im a newbie with the N scale!

LiLBanshe99

im getting ready to start an N scale model train set on a 4ft x 7ft piece of 3/4 inch plywood. any tips for a beginner like myself? this is my first model train i am going to build so anything would help. thanks!

Drew1125

Welcome LiLBanshe99!
Check out the book at the top of this page.
Virginian says it's a winner, (see his posting on this forum)
It's always a good idea to do some reading first.
And any questions you have,post them here. We'll all do our best to help!
Good luck to you, & have fun!

Virginian

Welcome again, LilBanshee99!
Your board size is close to the size of the layout depicted in "N scale model railroading", which is indeed good for us'new bees', I think.(FYI:The price listed above is very good, depending on shipping...retail is $18.95!!)The layout plan (clear photo ilustration and directions) uses a solid core interior door, which is about 3 1/2 feet by 7 feet...so, widen it a bit, and you've got your track plan. To get a good start, from what I've seen ( quite a bit, in a short time), this is a perfect book for a beginner.
One other thing..start with a small part, like the oval..get a train running.. then work on the spurs and sidings, hills , valleys, the little town..it's pretty easy to lift the track sections to add sections..just be sure to use either foam insulation, like the book says, or get some 'sound insulation board'..available at Home Depot, usually. It's a fiber board...makes setting and pulling track nails so much easier, I garontee!!( I shoulda' listened to shamus
redface.gif
)