im a newbie in trains....anyone have any good tips for me?

LiLBanshe99

im so excited, i still need to get a table ready for my n scale model train. does anyone have any good tips or know where i can get some tips? i cant wait to get started!!!

C

Catt

First off welcome to the Gauge.Second this is a great place to get help with any and all of your questions.
biggrin.gif

Now for a few tips from an old timer at this hobby.
1 Keep your curves as big as possible.

2 Be sure to avoid any kinks in your track work.

3 When anchoring your track to the roadbed,if you use tracknails do not push them all the way down to the top of the ties,because it's to easy to push in to far and depress the center of the tie causing the track to come out of gauge.

4 I would suggest that you test run all track before final ballasting.

5 Never forget ,the only dumb question there is,is the one you don't ask.

6 C'mon down to the N scale Forum.
biggrin.gif

------------------
Catt! NARA#1 & A freelancer for life

[This message has been edited by Catt! (edited 03-26-2001).]

Hi LiLBanshe99 , Welcome to The Gauge, check out the Academy as well, lots of good articles there.

Cheers
Dave Hagan
The Gauge

Virginian

Hi Lilbanshee99
Call me 'Virginan'; that's where I was born and that's where my 'Railroad nutiness' began..also one of the two roads I am a beginner modeler of, the other being the Norfolk and Western. N scale at home, HO at the local club I just joined..I'm havin' a ball... and this is an EXCELLENT place to get info. and technical support, I guarontee!!!

What is your particular interest...Road, region, era etc.? There are loads of web sites just waitin' out there to be explored, when your not settin' up that table, layin' track and runnin' your locos!
wink.gif

Welcome to the Guage
biggrin.gif

VGN.

[This message has been edited by Virginian (edited 03-26-2001).]

LiLBanshe99