I want to start designing papercraft

Discussion in 'Gallery & Designs' started by lordbandit1, Mar 26, 2008.

1. lordbandit1

lordbandit1 New Member

hi I'm just suscrbied finaly to this page.. I had a lot of problems with it... but I was a visitor since last year... I love papercraft, mainly mechas.. gundams are my favorites... I'm a fan of gundam wing and have all the pvc models... I would like to start making my own papercraft.. so with what program should I start? or how do I start.. I'm a graphic designer so I work with Adobe, Macormedia, Corel, you named so it wouldn't be difficult to adapt to another program.. I just read about a guy making the samurai gundam and he just subscribed in december and wow his model is awesome and said he got help from here. So, what I'm asking if is anyone would be so kind to point me in the right direction, this site is huge and if there's a threat about this sorry I couldn't find it.

P.S. I would like to be appointed with programs please, thanks ;)
  2. Soaring

Soaring Middle School Student

o_O Anoher willing designer? Well, start off with Metasequoia!
  3. Lex

Lex Dollmaker

Welcome onboard!!!:mrgreen: You can find a number of Gundam designers here, check the threads in designer's corner and Cartoon/Anime models section, I'm sure they will be of great help to you! Rob, Skip and others here are all great designers in the Gundam genre!

And yea, for designing go for Metasequoia, it's the best option and it's... free!!
    For unfolding you'll need Pepakura which sadly is not free... (sucks doesn't it:oops:)
    Pepakura Designer
    Since you're a graphic designer I'm sure you won't have problems with textures sign1

(No offence intended to all those left out in the links...)
    And special mention...

Edit: Soaring... You're even faster than me... hats off
  4. Soaring

5. lordbandit1

lordbandit1 New Member