How long have you been doing this?

Discussion in 'General Card Modeling' started by sforbes, Oct 31, 2006.

1. sforbes

sforbes New Member

I was wondering how long people have been doing paper models. I was first exposed to it by a friend 24 years ago. Of course back then things were very basic and we used construction paper to build simple shapes.

My first project was a dirt bike about 2 inches long. Next from there was a bi-plane about the same size. It was really the memory of that that led me here. So I was curious how long others have been into this wonderful hobby.

2. Darwin

Darwin Member

I've been making paper models for about 54 years now. My first "exposure" was from the back of a Corn Flakes box. Then went to a paper model of a Studebaker dealership (actually, several....I plagued my dad to do a test drive at every Studie shop we passed to replace the model I had played to death. Wish I still had some of them...they go for 3 figures on Ebay.). When I started designing my own stick and tissue models, I used card stock to make the test build from before risking the allowance-busting balsa stock. I really got back with it when I got my first internet connection and stumbled across Paper Paradise.
  3. Bengt F

Bengt F Active Member

Card Modelling for Life

Hi Sean,

I made my first medieval houses and castles (Schreiber-Bogen kits) long before PC´s were invented, in the mid 60s. So, it´s been about forty years now, on and off.

Bengt :grin:
  4. sforbes

sforbes New Member

That is awesome, you must be as amazed as I am how far the models have come. I consider myself to be a talented individual but am in awe of the creations by members here. I hope to learn a lot from the masters on this site. Thanks for sharing your history! More, more!!!
  5. dinsour

dinsour Member

Here I go giving away my age again.