How good is AutoCAD 2005 for designing paper models?

Discussion in 'Gallery & Designs' started by Longshaor, Jun 24, 2007.

1. Longshaor

Longshaor Member

Hi all,

I'm a professional draftsman who's been doing 2D work for over 5 years now. The firm I'm with doesn't do 3D and I haven't messed with it since I did my CAD certification (a LONG time ago) and I've seen 3D work sent to us by other firms that're pretty impressive, but how user friendly is it really?
  2. Amazyah

Amazyah Senior Member

If you have had an intro to CAD class then you should pick it up with minimal effort. Some of them do get over the top with commands and are more difficult to grasp.
    Sketch up is by far the easiest I have found to learn and it's free.
    Just follow all the video tutorials and then it's just your imagination holding you back!
    You should give it a try. just Google it.

3. wunwinglow

wunwinglow Active Member

Sorry, no experience of AutoCAD, but you don't need industrial strength programs for paper models. If you have access to it, I'd be inclined to use it! If you can generate a dxf file of your 3D data, you should be able to fold it out flat with a program such as pepakura (Pepakura Designer) which is free for a working demo, about $40 for the full program; well worth it in my opinion. You can make mesh models with other free programs such as wings3d, anim8or and SketchUp, the latter also having colouring facilities which Pepakura can read (save as a kmz version 4 file) and open when if develops your design into a flat model. There is also a plug-in available for SketchUp which 'unfolds' a model without having to export it.

If you want to spend some cash, Rhino (Modeling tools for designers) is excellent, a NURBS modeller, and has its own unrolling (developing) routines so you can then export the unfolded model to Illustrator of CorelDraw for colouring.