how 'bout some help for a newbie?!

Discussion in 'G / O / S Scale Model Trains' started by jveto, Oct 28, 2003.

1. jveto

jveto New Member

I'm new to the hobbie, and need some help. I've got an o/o-27 scale train, and would like to run it around the TOP of my son's room, on an elevated track that is attatched to the wall (about 20" below the ceiling). I cant find any helpful info on how to biuld, specs, etc. I've seen this done at a local restaurant and several pictures in mags, but now that I want to do it for myself I cant find any info.
    Please help if you can, very much appreciated!!:)
  2. billk

billk Active Member

Welcome to The Gauge!

You might think about putting up shelves, using readily available brackets, etc. They wouldn't have to be more than 8-12 in. wide, except at the corners where you would need something triangular (RR's don't turn square corners!)

Wiring could just be run along the rear of the shelf, and depending on the viewing angle might not have to be disguised.

Make sure the tracks are far enough away from the front edge so that the chances of disaster, i.e. a plummet to the floor, are minimized when derailments occur.
  3. Greg Elems

Greg Elems Member

Welcome to the-gauge Jveto.

As mentioned, there are decrotive wood shelf brackets that can be used for mounting a shelf around the room. There is also a comercial shelf system that has the corner sections for the different radius tracks. If you haven't looked in Classic Toy Trains do so. IIRC there was an add for that system.

Greg Elems
  4. Lighthorseman

Lighthorseman Active Member

Firstly, a big hearty welcome to the Gauge, Jveto!

I also plan (eventually) to run some Lionel stuff around the walls. I've seen pictures of simple shelf systems to ceiling hung systems. If I dig anything up, I'll post it.

By the way, did you see this thread?

They haven't any O27, and their prices are crippling, but the ideas!!
  5. Dougrl

Dougrl New Member