How Bout A Design School?

Discussion in 'Gallery & Designs' started by Bionic Modeler, Aug 21, 2007.

1. I have decided I am tired of waiting for others to do what I am sure I could do with the right tools and training. I am an artist with good mechanical skills and my computer skills are pretty good for an old fart. So how bout it you guys? Anyone want to help me learn how to design my own creations?

We need a step by step starting with tools (software for the average Joe) and concept and application. How to turn a 3-d model into a 2-d Card model.

I need a new challenge. Any takers? My first project will be the OP-2E as a gift to the boys at VO-67.
  2. Lex

Lex Dollmaker

--I'm sure there're already plenty of tutorials in the forum and on the net, we just need to have someone to sum up the info. Also if you run into any problems, go ask in designer's corner (here).
  3. How bout where to start. Recommended software for the novice? I see they have 3-d to 2-d shareware available. Which one to choose? I also have Adobe Photo Shop (limited knowledge on how to use it). So let us start there. I will walk you through the steps I need to get what I need. In the process we can help others who have been afraid to try.
  4. By the way Nezard, I love your logo, Very cute. Did you design that?
  5. Lex

Lex Dollmaker

The only freewares I knew of are the Blender and Unfolder combination, something which costs a little is Metasequoia (free version) / Sketchup and Pepakura designer (costs a little). If you really want to make the investment the Rhino (and possibly Illustrator) is a good choice too.

Some reference threads:

(PS my logo is taken from an anime I watch, so it's not original...)
  6. Jaybats

Jaybats Member

IMHO, the fastest way for you to learn this is as follows:

(1) Go here and download the freeware version of Metasequioa:

(2) Then go here and learn how to make an airplane: