Hoping to start a new career

Discussion in 'Getting Started' started by Glen Haasdyk, Dec 9, 2005.

1. Glen Haasdyk

Glen Haasdyk Active Member

Well, I did it. After several weeks of training and sweating it out over two writen tests and one road test I now have a Class 3 drivers liecence weith an air brake endorsment.
    What can I drive with a class three? Anything except busses, and tractor trailer units. So I'm looking for a job driving a gravel truck, dump truck, flat deck, cement truck, or garbage truck. I'm scouring the help ads and I do have a promising lead at a local waste disposal company, except they seem to want more of a mechanic than a driver. (I was an aircraft mechanic for 11 years.) I'd perfer to drive but the wage is 6$/hr more than I'm making now so I'll probably take it if nothing else comes along.
    In the spring I'm planning to upgrade to a class 1 which will let me drive the tractor-trailers and busses, not that I want to drive busses, I'd rather drive cargo that doesn't talk back to you!
  2. kadidle

kadidle Member

Glen, after driving both OTR and Busses (particularly for a company with a dog as it's logo.) I really enjoyed the bus more. I actually had very few problems with passangers, and can't think of a single time I got an overweight ticket. Of course cleaning my outfit could be interesting.

OTR was a blast, but once I got married it just wasn't possible with a family. Locol work frankly bored me, and I moved on to a different career. But I still look back at those days with fond memories.
  3. Glen Haasdyk

pardon my ignorance, but what is OTR?
    Oh yeah, I droped in at another waste disposal company and the personel director told me they were in the midst of a hiring spree so I'm hoping to get a call from them.
  4. KCS

KCS Member