HO or N?

Mike 86

I am new in the hobby of model railroading and I am debated what scale to start with HO or N. I have heard good things about both, but still don't know which one to choose. So feel free to give me some advice on which gauge to use, Thanks.

[This message has been edited by Mike (edited 12-18-2000).]

Mike 86

Thanks for the reply Lou, I haven't really thought about O scale, but I guess I could look into it, Thanks.

Mike

watash

Hey Mike, I am presently running HO,(since 1937), and have run 1=1 scale and all the way down to N gauge. The full size was the very best. You would need to enlarge your garage a mile or so, for that one! It all depends on what YOU want your rail empire to be, not us. If you want modern yard activities, then you choose to build to prototype standards, or free-lance, or you can run toy trains. Lionel and others make well detailed looking rolling stock. How many cars do you want to pull, switch around in your yars, and then figure out how long a train can you run around in the space that's left? Don't forget the radius of the track your largest engine, or longest car will require, then check that for each gauge. Its your choice, you might not like what we like, and there may be some who throw rocks at what you like. The thing to do, is first, get a can of rocks, then build what MIKE wants!
frown.gif

Mike 86

Oh yeah, PrsLou, I did look into O scale trains. Unfortunately it's probably not the size I would choose. O scale is too big, and N scale is too small, that is why I am choosing to go with HO scale. Thanks anyway for the advice.
smile.gif

Mike

Sparky

Mike,

I'm currently a collector of N-Scale equipment, which is to say I don't have any scenery or anything running yet. I don't claim to be an expert, but I'll give you a few beginner's observations and I hope they help.

Is it operation, painting & detailing, photography or something else that got you excited about the hobby?