HO logging railroad need design help

bellybomber3

Dec 30, 2005
I am new to model railroading in general and need some help designing a layout for the entire famliy to enjoy. I have a table that is 5' by 8' and would like to use that for my layout. Here is what I would like incorporated into the layout:
1. Two individual tracks with a mountain/ tunnels. I would like for both tracks to go through the tunnel and to have an over/ under design. I would like the outside track to run around the perimeter of the layout and to connect to the inner track so I could switch up the train's path.
2. I would like the layout to have areas where I could place cars and the kids could back the train up and couple to them and pull off. I want this to center around a logging industry with a sawmill and a possible lumber yard.
3. I definately want it to be expandable with some ideas for expansion.

I plan to use flex track and DCC
Thanks in advance for any feedback,
Tom

bellybomber3

Dec 30, 2005
Help me out here:
Where would I place a wye in the layout? I was planning to have a sawmill in the open area with a pond/ lake the location and or number of sidings might change to allow for this. On the far left is where the mountain/ tunnels were going to be placed the track on the left will be higher and I was planning on 3" clearances under the bridges is that enough? I don't forsee where the grades would be excessive but what is the maximum I should try to avoid?
Thanks again,
Tom

MasonJar

It's not rocket surgery
Oct 31, 2002
Ottawa, Canada
Visit site
Tom,

Are you limited to the 5x8, or can you do something different in the room?

If you stick with that track plan, one other thing it could use (even more than a wye, in my opinion) is a runaround track to move the loco from one end of the train to the other.